We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

You set him free. But what if you were wrong?

One morning, a jury summons arrives on Natalie’s doorstep.

She is one of twelve people to decide whether a man is innocent or guilty of a horrific crime.

But in the weeks after the trial, Natalie can’t shake the feeling that the verdict was a terrible mistake. That they let a guilty man walk free.

So when she crosses paths with the accused by chance, she decides to do whatever it takes to find the truth.

Because as Natalie knows, sometimes you have to take justice into your own hands . . .

A dark, addictive thriller about obsession and revenge which will grip you from the first page to the last. Perfect for fans of Blood Orange by Harriet Tyce and Apple Tree Yard by Louise Doughty.

Praise for C. J. Cooper

‘I raced through it – edgy, tense’
Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange

I loved this book – tightly plotted, edge-of-seat gripping’
Sophie Hannah, author of Haven’t They Grown

‘I for one am terrified of the woman next door!’
Louise Candlish, author of Our House

‘Dark, twisty, claustrophobic’
Jo Spain, author of The Confession

‘Intricately plotted, this gripping thriller is written with great style’
Lisa Ballantyne, author of The Guilty One

‘Intuitive and addictive’
Alison Bruce, author of I Did It For Us

Reviews

Praise for C. J. Cooper's debut, The Book Club:
I raced through it - edgy, tense
Harriet Tyce
A dark, twisty, claustrophobic read
Jo Spain
I for one am terrified of the woman next door!
Louise Candlish
Intricately plotted, this gripping thriller is written with great style and has a host of wonderful characters to be loved and hated in equal measure
Lisa Ballantyne
Immensely entertaining . . . grips and chills in equal measures
Cath Weeks
An irresistible slow descent into darkness, with twist upon twist upon twist. C.J. Cooper's page-turner debut kept on surprising me right to the end
Catriona McPherson
Intuitive and addictive
Alison Bruce
A fabulous, page-turning read . . . Highly recommended!
Caroline England
I loved this book - tightly plotted, edge-of-seat gripping
Sophie Hannah