Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Girl on the Stairs

The Girl on the Stairs

Jane and Petra have been together for six years and after deciding to have a child, they move to Petra’s hometown, Berlin. But things do not quite go according to plan. Jane, at six months pregnant, finds herself increasingly isolated and preoccupied with the monuments and reminders of the Holocaust which echo around the city – imagining the horrors that happened in the spaces around her. She becomes uneasy in the apartment and conceives a dread of the derelict backhouse across the courtyard. She also begins to suspect their neighbour, Alban Mann, of sexually assaulting his daughter, and places a phone call to the police which holds more significance than she can ever have known . . .
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 28th March 2013

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781848546509

Reviews

Louise Welsh's taut new novel at times feels like a potent cross between The Yellow Wallpaper and Rear Window . . . Welsh expertly conveys the escalation of Jane's suspicions to something approaching obsession
<i>Observer</i>
'An impressive psychological chiller'
<i>Sunday Telegraph</i>
'Sharply rendered . . . The reader's anxiety is heightened by a myriad of small tensions . . . Welsh keeps the reader turning to pursue the multiple stories threading through the pages . . . The writing of crime fiction is, after all, a sort of conjuring trick played on the reader, a welcome deception. Welsh has developed flashing fingers with cards, rabbits and hats'
<i>Independent</i>
Builds up atmosphere admirably
<i>Sunday Times</i>
Brilliantly atmospheric, the tension builds until you are chilled to the core
<i>Good Housekeeping</i>
A taut narrative that plays with our sense of what's real. Brilliant
<i>Red</i>
'A stylish and violent Berlin-set thriller'
<i>Guardian</i>
'Powerful, impressive and as black as sin'
<i>The Spectator</i>
'An outstanding work of psychological suspense that will thrill Welsh's existing fans and earn her many more'
<i>Daily Record</i>
'A portrait of a city haunted by its past, with nods to Don't Look Now and Charlotte Perkins Gilman's The Yellow Wallpaper, it's a profoundly creepy read'
<i>Guardian</i> Books of the Year 2012
'The Girl on the Stairs feels like a ghost story. Taking place in a haunted city, the book's knowing evocation of Don't Look Now, Du Maurier's Venice-set story, is sharpened by the fact that this mother is not grieving the loss of a child but anticipating a birth. Yet what Welsh knows, and brings to a bloody conclusion, is that no supernatural manifestation of our darkest hours is any match for what real human beings can do to each other'
<i>Guardian</i>
Welsh skilfully exposes Jane's growing obsession in a tale that becomes more compelling with every shocking twist
<i>Psychologies</i>
A highly effective mystery, told by the kind of unreliable narrator able to rival the very best at keeping you guessing
<i>Scotsman</i>
'We've come to expect two things from Welsh: a brilliant sense of location and knuckle-whitening suspense . . . Superbly entertaining'
<i>Saga</i>
'Both chilling and disturbing insights into the female psyche'
<i>Scotsman</i>
'Wonderfully atmospheric'
<i>List</i>
A masterclass in sustained tension and hold-your-breath suspense
<i>Bookseller</i>
'Edgy, tense and a real page-turner'
<i>Woman</i>
'A fast-paced read...this is definately a must read for fans of mystery or psychology'
<i>Ialwaysbelievedinfutures.blogspot</i>
'This is a fantastic, dark, edgy and edgy of your seat thriller which will not disappoint fans of Louise Welsh but will also be perfect for fans of Rosamund Lupton and Julia Crouch. Be prepared to loose sleep'
<i>lisabooks.blogspot.co.uk</i>
'The uncertainties and ambiguities kept me guessing to the end . . . The Girl on the Stairs is a dark, psychological thriller, full of atmosphere and claustrophobic tension. I really enjoyed it'
<i>booksplease.org</i>
'A clever Rear Window type thriller . . . You won't be able to put this book down until the very end when there is a surprising twist. I was left with an uncomfortable feeling at the end and am still thinking about this book days after I finished it'
<i>novelfriends.com</i>
'A dark haunting novel. The story builds and as the tension incrases I enjoyed it more and more, and felt it got better and better until I was gripped . . . It's a fairly short novel, written in spare prose with evocative descriptive passages and effective dialogue that always adds to the plot progression'
<i>thelittlereaderlibrary.blogspot.co.uk</i>
'The Girl on the Stairs is a gritty, psychological thriller with plenty of suspense, tension and mystery. The twists and turns will have you believing Jane one minute and thinking she's mad the next. A definite page-turner and an excellent read'
<i>NotesofLife.co.uk</i>
Skilfully paced and heavily atmospheric'
<i>Sunday Telegraph</i>
Utterly absorbing
Evening Herald (Dublin)